SA Car of the Year: 2015 semi-finalists

For the past two years the South African Car of the Year competition has been controversial with a Porsche sports car winning both times. Now the brand has another entry in the semi-finalis.

The 2013 Car of the Year winner, thePorsche Boxster, sparked much debate fromWheels24readers. So did the 2014 winner, the Porsche Cayman S.


Not only that, even SA’s women drivers opted for the Porsche Macan as its 2014 SA Women’s Car of the Year.

Will another manufacturer shine through this time around? We can only wait and see…

Following a vote by the 2015 Car of the Year jury, the South African Guild of Motoring Journalists has announced the short list of semi-finalists (in alphabetical order):

Audi A3 Sedan 1.4T SE S Tronic
 • BMW M235i Coupe
 • BMW M4 Coupe Auto
 • Citroën C4 Picasso e-HDi 115 Intensive
 • Honda Accord 3.5 V6 Exclusive
 • Hyundai Grand i10 1.25 Fluid
 • Infiniti Q50 3.5 V6 S Hybrid RWD
 • Land Rover Range Rover Sport Supercharged HSE Dynamic
 • Lexus ES 250 EX
 • Mercedes Benz C-Class C200 auto
 • Mercedes-Benz S-Class S500
 • Mini Cooper Hatch
 • Nissan Qashqai 1.6 dCi Acenta auto
 • Porsche Macan S Diesel
 • Renault Duster 1.5dCi Dynamique 4WD
 • Renault Sandero Turbo Dynamique 66kW
 • Subaru WRX Premium
 • Toyota Corolla 1.4D-4D Prestige
 • Volkswagen Golf R 2.0 TSI DSG
Volkswagen Polo 1.2 TSI 81kw Highline DSG

The finalists derived from this shortlist and will be announced on October 23 2014 at the Inanda Polo Club, Johannesburg.

The duild said: “With the sole aim of rewarding automotive excellence, the jury will put the finalists through stringent testing in early February 2015 and score each against its direct class competitors on aspects that include aesthetics, dynamics, technology and innovation, safety and value for money.

The 2015 SA Car of the Year will be announced at a black tie event on March 18 2015.

The SA Guild of Motoring Journalists has run the competition since 1986.


Article Source

Author: MC World

Share This Post On

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *